Thursday, February 17, 2011

Cameroon Ratifies Treaty of Pelindaba

On 28 September 2010, Cameroon became the 31st African country to deposit its instrument of ratification to Africa's Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Pelindaba) with the African Union (AU), having ratified the Treaty on 11 June 2010.

The restructuring of the AU website may be a reason for the delay of the announcement. At the First Conference of States Parties which took place in Addis Ababa on 4 November 2010, the decision was made that one of the 12 Commissioners of the African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE) would come from Cameroon.

Click HERE for the latest Treaty of Pelindaba country list.

No comments: