Monday, July 11, 2011

SA marks twentieth anniversary of move from nuclear weapons to nonproliferation

On July 10, 1991, South Africa signed the Treaty on the Non Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, better known as the Non Proliferation Treaty and most usually referred to simply as the NPT. This marked the final step in South Africa’s transition from a nuclear weapons State to a country with a nuclear programme that was and is exclusively and verifiably devoted to peaceful ends.

In the process, South Africa became the first country with nuclear weapons to give them up. That nuclear weapons programme, whatever its political or military advisability (or lack thereof), represented a very significant South African scientific, technological and engineering achievement.

For the full article, click HERE

No comments: