Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Comoros becomes 36th States Party to the Treaty of Pelindaba

On 24 July, Comoros became the 36th states party to the Treaty of Pelindaba.

The Treaty declares Africa a zone free of nuclear weapons. As an important step towards strengthening the non-proliferation regime, it provides for the promotion of co-operation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy; requires complete nuclear disarmament by African states; and enhances both regional and global peace and security. Thus, the Pelindaba Treaty seeks to ensure that nuclear weapons are not developed, produced, tested, or otherwise acquired or stationed anywhere on the African continent or its associated islands.

For a full Treaty status list, click HERE.

No comments: